The kenyan coast – Mombasa and Diani beach

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Arriving in the heat of Mombasa was not too bad after I spent some days in almost 40 degrees in the desert. I stayed in the Beracha guesthouse, which is an ok place in the middle of everything, and not too expensive. I met with my friend Ken the next day, and had a great day walking around in town. I really love the markets – especially the nice fabrics, the fruits and the smell of different spices. Mombasa is a beautiful town, and so many great places to just walk around. Especially beautiful is the route from the Likoni ferry along Mama Ngina Drive – a nice and cool breeze and a wonderful view of the sea, and I also like the narrow streets of the old town.

From Mombasa we continued to Diani beach. I stayed in a wonderful place in Ukunda – a few kilometers away from the beach. The resorts at the beach are way too expensive, and in Ukunda you have different choices of places to eat and bars in the evening. The beach at the 40 thieves beach bar was wonderful, and a nice place to spend the day.  I spent two wonderful days just hanging out in the beach and in the local bars, enjoying sun, sea and a lot of sleep. Some lazy days!

Then I continued my travel and headed for Tanzania. First destination: Tanga. Warm bus, bumpy road – but I´m getting used to it!

Leave a Reply

